IAB Europe News

IAB Europe Members elect a multi-stakeholder Board of Directors

Brussels, 13 June 2019 – Ahead of Interact 2019, IAB Europe’s flagship conference in Warsaw last week, IAB Europe members elected their new Board of Directors during the Annual General Meeting for a two-year mandate. IAB Europe’s Board is comprised of ten Corporate members and ten National IAB Members, which ensures a multi-stakeholder representation in leadership, including Publishers, Agencies and Ad Tech companies. The list of the newly elected Board members is as follows:

Corporate Board Members

  • Neil Bowman, VP Advertising Technology – BBC
  • Bethan Crockett, Senior Director Brand Safety, Digital Risk, EMEA – GroupM
  • Nigel Gilbert, Executive VP Strategic Development – AppNexus, A Xandr company
  • Mark Howe, Managing Director, EMEA Agencies – Google
  • Matthias Matthiesen, Senior Privacy Counsel – Quant cast
  • Rhys Noelke, Senior VP Strategy – RTL
  • Bela Papp, Global Agency Director – Microsoft
  • Phil Sumner, Global Media Insights Director – Teads
  • Carolin Wehrhahn, Head of Brussels Office Public Affairs – AxelSpringer
  • Stuart Wilkinson, Head of Industry Relations – comScore

National IABs Board Members

  • Ioana Anescu, Managing Director – IAB Romania
  • Sebastiano Cappa, Board Member – IAB Italy
  • Thomas Duhr, Exec VP Interactive – IP Deutschland
  • Pierre Gauthier, Director International Development – DrBanner
  • Petri Kokkonen, Chairman – IAB Finland / CEO, Relevant Digital OY
  • Mahmut Kursun, Board Member – IAB Turkey
  • Suzanne McElligot, CEO – IAB Ireland
  • Jon Mew, CEO – IAB UK
  • Włodzimierz Schmidt, CEO – IAB Poland – Chairman
  • Allan Sorensen, Head of Digital and International Affairs – Danske Medier / COO –  IAB Denmark

 Włodzimierz Schmidt is now the official Chairman of the IAB Europe Board of Directors until 2021. Constantine Kamaras is Chairman Emeritus.

The new Executive Committee (ExCo) comprises the following members:

  • Włodzimierz Schmidt, CEO – IAB Poland – Chairman
  • Stuart Wilkinson, Head of Industry Relations – comScore – Vice Chairman
  • Neil Bowman, VP Advertising Technology – BBC – Treasurer
  • Thomas Duhr, Exec VP Interactive – IP Deutschland – Executive Committee Member
  • Sebastiano Cappa, Board Member– IAB Italy – Executive Committee Member

Townsend Feehan, CEO at IAB Europe said: “The team and I are excited about working with this new Board, which has a good balance of new faces from great European media and technology brands, on the one hand, and strong continuity from companies and National IABs on whom we’ve relied for the past two Boards, on the other.  It is hard to imagine a more interesting time to have this stewardship role for the industry,”

The new Board will oversee implementation of a three-year plan developed by the departing Board extending the Association’s scope beyond interactive advertising to digital marketing. The plan is built around three core areas: policy advocacy & regulation; frameworks & codes of conduct; and industry programmes.   


Media contacts

About IAB Europe

IAB Europe is the European-level association for the digital marketing and advertising ecosystem.  Through its membership of National IABs and media, technology and marketing companies, its mission is to lead with political representation and promote industry collaboration to deliver frameworks, standards and industry programmes that enable business to thrive in the European market, for the region’s digital economy and citizens.


Thank you for your interest in our article. We’d love to get in touch with you to find out how you are using our research. If you don’t mind us sending you an email to ask you if the article was helpful, then please enter your email address and download the report.

We promise we won’t spam you!


Become a Member Lost your password?