IAB Europe News

IAB Europe Press release: IAB Europe elects New Board of Directors for 2017-2019

Brussels, 31 May 2017 – Ahead of the 11th edition of Interact, IAB Europe’s flagship conference in Amsterdam last week, IAB Europe members elected their new Board of Directors.


IAB Europe – whose mission is to promote the development of the digital advertising sector and ensure its sustainability by shaping the regulatory environment and demonstrating the value digital advertising brings to Europe’s economy – is delighted to announce the following Board Members:


  • Henk van Niekerk, Senior Vice President Publishers and Ad Networks, AOL
  • Nigel Gilbert, Executive Vice President Strategic Development, AppNexus
  • Tony Evans, Director of Marketing Science EMEA, Facebook
  • Thierry Geerts, Country Director Belgium, Google
  • John Wittesaele, President EMEA, GroupM
  • Neil Bowman, President of Advertising Technology, BBC Advertising
  • Axel Steinman, Vice President International Search Ad sales, Microsoft
  • Rene Plug, Chief Strategy Officer, Improve Digital
  • Philipp von Hilgers, Managing Director, Meetrics
  • Stuart Wilkinson, Head of Industry Relations EMEA, comScore
  • Thomas Duhr, Vice President, BVDW
  • Valerie Chavanne, Vice President, IAB France
  • Jon Mew, Chief Executive Officer, IAB UK
  • Allan Sorensen, Head of Digital, Danske Medier (IAB Denmark)
  • Sebastiano Cappa, Councellor, IAB Italy
  • Wlodek Schmidt, President & CEO, IAB Poland
  • Mahmut Kursun, Chairman, IAB Turkey
  • Constantine Kamaras, Head of Public & Int’l Affairs, IAB Greece
  • Suzanne McElligott, Chief Executive Officer, IAB Ireland
  • Lucien Secareanu, Vice President, IAB Romania

IAB Europe is glad to welcome newcomers like Rene Plug, Chief Strategy Officer at Improve Digital and Neil Bowman, President of Advertising Technology, BBC Advertising as corporate directors, as well as the following directors from National IABs: Sebastiano Cappa from IAB Italy and Lucien Secereanu from IAB Romania.

The new Executive Committee (ExCo) is comprised of the following directors:

  • Constantine Kamaras (Chair)
  • Stuart Wilkinson (Vice Chair)
  • Nigel Gilbert (Treasurer)
  • Thomas Duhr (ExCo Member)
  • Wlodek Schmidt (ExCo Member)

“Warm welcome to the new IAB Europe Directors and thanks to the outgoing Directors for their contributions to IAB Europe over the past two years. We look forward to taking IAB Europe even further in our mission at pan-european level, with the support of prestigious senior digital advertising executives”, said CEO Townsend Feehan.

Media contact: 

About IAB Europe
IAB Europe is the leading European-level industry association for the online advertising ecosystem. Its mission is to promote the development of this innovative sector and ensure its sustainability by shaping the regulatory environment, demonstrating the value digital advertising brings to Europe’s economy, to consumers and to the market, and developing and facilitating the update of harmonised business practices that take account of changing user expectations and enable digital brand advertising to scale in Europe.

Thank you for your interest in our article. We’d love to get in touch with you to find out how you are using our research. If you don’t mind us sending you an email to ask you if the article was helpful, then please enter your email address and download the report.

We promise we won’t spam you!


Become a Member Lost your password?